## Resolution

ENROLLED HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 1053

By: Steagall, Baker, Bashore, Bell, Bennett, Blancett, Boatman, Boles, Brewer, Burns, Bush, Caldwell (Chad), Caldwell (Trey), Conley, Cornwell, Crosswhite Hader, Culver, Davis, Dempsey, Dills, Dobrinski, Dollens, Echols, Fetgatter, Ford, Frix, Fugate, Gann, Goodwin, Grego, Hardin (David), Hardin (Tommy), Hasenbeck, Hilbert, Hill, Humphrey, Johns, Kannady, Kendrix, Kerbs, Lawson, Lepak, Lowe (Dick), Lowe (Jason), Luttrell, Manger, Marti, Martinez, May, McBride, McCall, McDugle, McEntire, Miller, Mize, Moore, Munson, Newton, Nichols, Nollan, O'Donnell, Olsen, Osburn, Pae, Patzkowsky, Pfeiffer, Phillips, Pittman, Provenzano, Randleman, Ranson, Roberts (Dustin), Roberts (Eric), Roberts (Sean), Roe, Rosecrants, Russ, Sims, Smith, Sneed, Stark, Stearman, Sterling, Stinson, Strom, Talley, Townley, Turner, Vancuren, Virgin, Waldron, Walke, Wallace, West (Josh), West (Kevin), West (Rick), West (Tammy), Williams, Wolfley and Worthen

A Resolution supporting the "You Can Fly" High School Curriculum developed by the Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association.

WHEREAS, the four-year "You Can Fly" High School Curriculum developed by the Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association (AOPA) is being adopted by independent school districts at a record pace across the state; and

WHEREAS, over the last several years, the Oklahoma Aeronautics Commission has led the way to advocate and implement this novel curriculum to support Oklahoma's commitment to solve workforce challenges and to ensure that the state's second-largest industry, aviation and aerospace, will continue to be a major economic driver for the state. Today, Oklahoma is ranked third in the nation for implementing the AOPA Curriculum with nearly 30 schools teaching it and is on the heels of overtaking the lead this fall with the start of the 2022-2023 school year; and

WHEREAS, in late 2021 the Commission, as part of a statewide consortium, was awarded a Federal Aviation Administration Workforce Development Grant to further support the implementation of the AOPA program and to make Oklahoma's educators aware of the potential that aviation and aerospace have in their classrooms. One of the foundational aspects of receiving the FAA grant funding was the ability to name five Oklahoma high schools as "Aviation High Schools of Excellence"; and

WHEREAS, these five schools, Ada High School, McAlester High School, Mustang High School, Okmulgee High School, and Pryor High School were all early adopters of the AOPA program and are in year three or beyond of implementing the curriculum. Because of their expertise and willingness to share their knowledge they have been designated to assist what is expected to be 50 Oklahoma high schools in the implementation of the AOPA Curriculum for next school year and will serve as hubs for aviation science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) activities and teacher professional development.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE 2ND SESSION OF THE 58TH OKLAHOMA LEGISLATURE:

THAT the Oklahoma House of Representatives supports the "You Can Fly" High School Curriculum and encourages adoption of the AOPA Curriculum in more schools across the state.

2022	2.				
			Presiding C	fficer of the Hou Representa	
		OFFICE OF THE S	SECRETARY OF	STATE	
	Received by	the Office of the	Secretary o	f State this	
day	of	, 20	, at	o'clock	М.
By:					

Adopted by the House of Representatives the 30th day of March,